Euro 2012 Finals: Spain vs Italy – Data Visualisation

I wrote a blog post a while back about the creative use of statistical graphics to tell a story, i.e. data visualisation.  I’ve made my own attempts such as the match statistics in the Super 8s and the All Nations Volleyball Tournament.  However, the one I found on ongoalsscored is a fantastic example of data visualisation.

Euro 2012 Final Spain vs Italy Statistics from ongoalsscored

The best thing I love about this is the data visualisation on the passing statistics.  They have elegantly used the bubble size to compound additional information of passing statistics, which is intuitive.  I also like the attempts and assists.  Just a simple glance can reveal a lot of information: Xavi’s stack showed he played a huge role in creating goals and Iniesta non-stack showed he didn’t.

My task now is to do this on a spreadsheet so all of this can be automatically replicated after a data dump.  This will surely test my excel skills!

2 thoughts on “Euro 2012 Finals: Spain vs Italy – Data Visualisation

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started